My Favorite Ballplayer – And I paid a few Guys

I am going to break down today’s post into a couple different threads as there has been a few different things happening here.  We spent last weekend in TriCities, Washington at my daughters softball tournament – first and foremost, I can’t tell you how much fun it is to watch my daughter go out there and compete.  She’s twelve and was a first year select player this year – plays on a pretty new team that struggles a bit but she started the year as a sub hitting toward the bottom of the lineup and finished the year as the teams starting shortstop hitting third – I am a proud poppa!

Addy Throw

What a stud – she’s a far better player than her old man ever was – I can promise you that.

 

Alright – onto the TTM updates.

 

I have tried and failed with old Kruky a few times over the last couple of years.  Not even sure as to why I tried again as it’s always been a fairly random return but I can only assume I had a card in front of me and gave it a shot.  Was pumped to cross this one off the 1987 Topps list.

123 Kruk

John Kruk 1/1 in 27 days – 1987 Topps #123

 

 

exquisite 1

Earnest/Earnie Riles 2/2 via Private Signing on SCN

The price was reasonable so I decided to scratch a couple off the 1987 Topps and 1988 Fleer projects.  Took a little while for the signing to actually happen but the host was great and happy to get these back in and add them to the binder.

 

 

exquisite 10001

Joe Carter 3/3 in 10 days – tried him with no money and failed.  At $5 per, I think these are well worth the money.  Not sure why it took me so long to add them to the collection.  One of the first pro games I ever saw at the Metrodome in Minneapolis featured Carter rocking three bombs – these are three beauties and I will likely send him another package of cards here shortly.

Historical Note – Joe Carter was the second player in baseball history to end the World Series with a walkoff homerun.  Bill Mazeroski was the first in 1960.

 

 

exquisite 10002

Steve Buechele 2/2 in 72 days – nice when an older submission comes in and looks as good as these do.  A little ink rubbed off on the envelope on the 1989 Topps but overall pretty happy to add these ones to the collection.

 

 

exquisite 10003

Lou Whitaker 2/2 in 8 days – like Carter, Lou is another guy whom I tried and failed with no money.  I hesitated a bit to send as it was a little more than I wanted to spend but ended up adding in a little extra and asked for the “Sweet Lou” inscription – I honestly don’t think these could have come out any better and he turned them around in about a week.  Couple beauty additions for sure.

 

There will be another post coming after today’s mail (hopefully there is a full mailbox of cards!) and a sizable purchase of 1987 Topps and Topps Traded auto pickups.  Stats will be forthcoming as well.

Thanks for the look!

 

 

Leave a Reply

